Skip to main content
Library Banner Fort Lewis College link Fort Lewis College link Link to Reed Library Link to Reed Library Directory Reed Library on Facebook Reed Library Instagram Reed Library PinterestLink to campus phone directory Link to theFort Fort Lewis College A to Z

Historic Periodicals: Home

A guide to full-text historic periodicals from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries with several titles covering up to the present.

Guide to Historic Periodicals

This guide contains a list of historic periodicals published in the United States that are available in digital format in various collections.  You can search titles in alphabetical order by clicking on the Periodicals (A-Z) tab. You can view journals that are available in Google Books, the Making of America Collection (from Cornell University and the University of Michigan), JSTOR, and various publisher websites by clicking on the Periodicals by Source tab .

The Indexes to Periodicals includes digitized copies of Poole's Index to Periodical Literature from 1882-1892 and the Research Guide to Periodical Literature from 1900-1918.  These indexes will help locate articles by topic.

Reed Library maintains a collection of print indexes including the 19th Century Reader's Guide 1890-1899, the Readers Guide to Periodical Literature 1900-1990, the International Index to Periodicals 1907-1965, and the New York Times Index 1863-2007. Reference Librarians are available to assist with these resources.

Subject Guide

Peekay Briggs
Library HoursMonday - Thursday: 7:30 am- 10:00 pm Friday: 7:30 am - 5:00 pm Saturday: 1:00 pm - 5:00 pm Sunday: 1:00 pm - 10:00 pm

See Also: Extended Schedule

Reference Desk HoursMonday - Thursday: 9:00 am - 8:00 pm Friday: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm Saturday: CLOSEDSunday: 1:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Contact usCirculation Desk: 970-247-7270 Research Help: 970-247-7551 Library Admin: 970-247-7250

Contact Us | John F. Reed Library | Fort Lewis College | 1000 Rim Drive | Durango, Colorado 81301 | 970-247-7270