This is the "Home" page of the "Gender & Women's Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Library Banner Fort Lewis College link Fort Lewis College link Link to Reed Library Link to Reed Library Directory Reed Library on Facebook Reed Library Instagram Reed Library Pinterest Link to campus phone directory Link to theFort Fort Lewis College A to Z

Gender & Women's Studies  

Resources to help you with research for all your GWS classes.
Last Updated: Sep 6, 2013 URL: http://subjectguides.fortlewis.edu/gws Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Associations, Societies, Research Centers, and Think Tanks

  • AAUW
    News, events, research and more on women, especially as they relate to higher education.
  • Association for Women in Science (AWIS)
    "For nearly 40 years, the Association for Women in Science has fought for equity and career advancement for women – from the bench to the board room. We unite women through our nationwide network of chapters and partnerships with aligned professional organizations."
  • Center for Reproductive Rights
    "We envision a world where every woman is free to decide whether and when to have children; where every woman has access to the best reproductive healthcare available; where every woman can exercise her choices without coercion or discrimination."
  • Center on Women and Public Policy (CWPP)
    Center at the University of Minnesota. "Welcome to the nation's first complete teaching, research, and outreach center devoted to women and public policy. Since 1985, the Center on Women and Public Policy (CWPP) has used gender analysis to challenge fundamental assumptions about politics, law, and economics on issues ranging from human rights to judicial selection and independence."
  • Girl Geeks
    Organization that encourages young women to become involved in technology.
  • Institute for Women's Policy Research (IWPR)
    "WPR focuses on issues of poverty and welfare, employment and earnings, work and family issues, health and safety, and women's civic and political participation."
  • International Black Women's Public Policy Institute (IBWPPI)
    "IBWPPI works in the US and internationally to convene hearings and discussions to evaluate the impact of current public policies and initiate new policies and programs that address the major threats to the well-being of Black women, families and communities. We support, train and place young women in internships and fellowships, in offices of elected officials, key government agencies, and international agencies to bring the voice and agenda of Black women into the public policy arena."
  • INWES: International Network of Women Engineers and Scientists
    "INWES is a global network of organizations of women in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM), reaching over 250 000 members from 60 countries worldwide." Includes news and events, links, resources, member services, and more.
  • NETWISE
    "The NETWISE research group is a multi-institutional research group that conducts research on questions related to how social and professional networks matter in the careers of academic scientists, with special attention to women and underrepresented minorities."
  • Public Leadership Education Network (PLEN)
    "Each year, PLEN brings about 250 women students from colleges and universities across the country to Washington, D.C. for a weekend, week, or an entire summer to experience first-hand how public policy is shaped and implemented at the national level. Students meet with and learn from women leaders making and influencing public policy at the highest levels in the Congress, courts, federal agencies, corporate sector, policy research and advocacy organizations and the news media."
  • Society of Women Engineers (SWE)
    Includes news, scholarships, awards and compettions, membership, professional development, and public policy.
  • WIGSAT: Women, Technology, Society  
      
    Click the"i" button for more information.
  • WIPP: Women Impacting Public Policy  
      
    "The voice for women in business in the nation's capital." Click the "i" button for further description.
  • Women and Public Policy Program: Harvard Kennedy School  
      
    "The Women and Public Policy Program of Harvard Kennedy School asks what we can do to create gender equality and improve the lives of women and men throughout the world." Click the "i" button for focus areas.
  • Women's Organizations Links
    Extensive though unannotated list of links to women's organizations, particularly relating to politics and public policy.
  • Women's Research and Education Institute (WREI)
    "Research is our middle name and since 1977 WREI has been the source of reliable data and clear thinking about the status of American women. Our first ‘clients’ were federal legislators—the 18 women then serving in the U.S. Congress. Over the years our mandate has widened to include 90 women serving in the House and Senate plus state officials, local governments, women's advocates, corporate policymakers, the media, teachers, students, and just about anyone interested in issues of equali
 

Welcome!

If you have any suggestions for resources to add, please contact Alejandro Marquez.

For more information, you may also want to look at our other research guides, including Civil Rights and Social Justice, Communication and Media Studies,  Sociology, and our guide for Women's History Month.

 

Choosing for Happiness (1950)

How to pick just the right man for you.

Watch more vintage films at the Prelinger Archives.

 

Gender & Society

Gender & Society (GENDSOC) is a peer-reviewed journal, focused on the study of gender. It is the official journal of Sociologists for Women in Society, and was founded in 1987 as an outlet for feminist social science. Currently, it is a top-ranked journal in both sociology and women's studies.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

The Feminist Review

Feminist Review is a peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journal setting new agendas for feminism. Feminist Review invites critical reflection on the relationship between materiality and representation, theory and practice, subjectivity and communities, contemporary and historical formations. The FR Collective is committed to exploring gender in its multiple forms and interrelationships.

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Information on Women's Suffrage Movement

  • The Constitution: The 19th Amendment- A resource from the National Archives. The 19th amendment guarantees all American women the right to vote.
  • History of Suffrage Movement- A resource from The Anthony Center for Women's Leadership. Early women's rights leaders believed suffrage to be the most effective means to change an unjust system.
  • Timeline of Women's Suffrage-A resource from the Library of Congress. One Hundred Years toward Suffrage: An Overview. Compiled by E. Susan Barber
  • Women's Suffrage Quiz- Test your knowledge of the American woman suffrage movement with this 21-question quiz.
 

Women's Wordle

Your Helpful Librarian

Profile Image
Alejandro Marquez
Contact Info
Reed Library 143
970-247-7247
Send Email
 

Research Resources

Research Paper Navigator
Use this handy calculator for help with citing sources, writing your paper, library research and time management.

Citing Your Sources
Tutorial (Flash) from Eastern Washington University.

Purdue Online Writing Lab
Quick guides for MLA, APA, Chicago and tips on creating annotated bibliographies, evaluating sources, etc.

 

News from Center for Reproductive Rights

The CRR envisions a world where every woman is free to decide whether and when to have children; where every woman has access to the best reproductive healthcare available; where every woman can exercise her choices without coercion or discrimination.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and Society

If you're interested in Gender and Women's Studies, you might be interested in the journal Signs. Signs is available in electronic format through several databases to which Reed Library subscribes. Below is a list of selected articles from Signs with links to the full text online.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Feminists@Law

feminists@law is a peer-reviewed online journal which aims to publish critical, interdisciplinary, theoretically engaged scholarship that extends feminist debates and analyses relating to law and justice

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Contact Us | John F. Reed Library | Fort Lewis College | 1000 Rim Drive | Durango, Colorado 81301 | 970-247-7270

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip