Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Instruction  Tags: library_instruction libric  

Library instruction resources for FLC instructors
Last update: Oct 05th, 2009 URL: http://subjectguides.fortlewis.edu/instruction  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Tier 2 (Comp)             Print Page
  
 

Tier 2 Overview

Library instruction consists of 2 hours + 15 minutes of class time, taught in conjunction with the required intermediate composition courses (Comp 250, Comp 252, Comp 253) and subject-specific writing courses (Engl 268, Hist 250, Soc 250).

Competencies: Research Foundations

  1. Evaluate information, relative to the disciplines if possible.
  2. Distinguish between primary literature or research and secondary sources, within disciplines if possible.
  3. Select appropriate research tools, including specialized and general databases and background material, utilizing specialized resources.
  4. Apply complex research strategies and online search techniques, critically analyzing search strategies.
  5. Use sources appropriately, including correctly referencing sources using citation styles, taught within the context of plagiarism issues.

Assessment:

At this level, students will be evaluated on the appropriate use of sources and the ability to cite using bibliographic references. As stated in FLC approved Comp 250’s the Nomination Form for State Guarantee General Education Designation, “[s]tudents learn proper citation methods and also gain experience in using the library to locate and evaluate sources to support their writing. These outcomes are demonstrated through class discussion, academic and research-based papers, reflection papers, and other written assignments.” As well, students learn to “… carry out research in order to find materials that can support their arguments.”

Syllabus:

A joint working group of Library and Writing Program faculty have proposed the following language to be incorporated into all Tier 2 syllabi:

In this class, you will build on the skills you have already acquired in your academic career to do more advanced college-level research. An important part of research is learning how to become a critical consumer of information. A librarian will be visiting class to discuss the research process and to demonstrate how to use library resources. After this instruction, you should be able to:

  • Distinguish between primary literature/research and secondary sources
  • Select appropriate research tools, including general and specialized databases
  • Apply and critically analyze complex research strategies and online search techniques
  • Evaluate information sources. This includes the process of evaluation within a rhetorical framework, using the basic constituents of rhetorical situation (exigence, audience, and constraints), as well as within the larger context of academia.

 

Session 1

Timing:

Week 4 of the semester (or whenever it most appropriately fits into the class syllabus).

In-Class:

Overview of types of literature within discipline; “literature review” – purpose, incorporation into research, appropriate sources; journals in the discipline; journals from other disciplines; use of monographic texts, secondary vs. primary sources; evaluating sources; citing; plagiarism/ academic honesty. Library will provide Subject Guides (Pathfinders) for broad subject areas.

Developing a Research Topic exercise helps students devise a research question with keywords. Bring to next class session.

Assessment:

Homework assignment - library worksheet. Students will research their question and turn in a paragraph describing the research question, key terms, and evaluate their search results. This will be polished and incorporated into the Annotated bibliography preface. Hand in at next library session.

 

Session 2

Timing:

Week 5 of the semester (or whenever it most appropriately fits into the class syllabus).

In-Class:

Search strategies using databases, especially specialized resources (America History and Life, Historical Abstracts, MLA Bibliography, Business Sources, etc.)

Assessment:

Reference consult requirement: Students will get individual or group assistance at the reference desk with librarian signing off.

Annotated Bibliography prefaced with a paragraph describing research strategy and results. Students will be given a rubric for the paragraph.


Librarians will do program assessment through a random 20% sample of papers.

 

Session 3

In-Class:

Short follow-up 15 min. – Review students’ experiences with research to discuss problems and insights. Discuss source evaluation issues.

 

Faculty Evaluations

Please take a moment to fill out a quick evaluation of integrated library instruction.

 
 

Tier 2 Student Evaluations

 

Please fill out a short evaluation form for library instruction in Comp 250, 252, and 253 classes, plus Engl 268, Hist 250, and Soc 250 .

NOTE: you need to know the course number to fill out this form. If you don't have it, look it up in WebOpus.

 

Contact Us | John F. Reed Library | Fort Lewis College | 1000 Rim Drive | Durango, Colorado 81301 | 970-247-7270

Description

  Loading content... please wait