Terms & Concepts
This is the "Home" page of the "Teacher Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Library Banner Fort Lewis College link Fort Lewis College link Link to Reed Library Link to Reed Library Directory Reed Library on Facebook Link to campus phone directory Link to theFort Fort Lewis College A to Z

Teacher Education   Tags: education  

Use this guide to find resources for your Teacher Education classes.
Last Updated: May 14, 2013 URL: http://subjectguides.fortlewis.edu/education Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

These JUST IN: New Education Books to Read in Reed Library

Cover Art
A World-Class Education : Learning from International Models of Excellence and Innovation - by Vivien Stewart
Call Number: LB2822.82 .S8418 2012
ISBN: 1416613749
Publication Date: 2012
Contents include: Globalization and education -- Success stories from around the world -- The common elements of successful systems -- Developing effective teachers and school leaders -- Modernizing curriculum, instruction, and assessment -- Creating the future. Includes bibliographical references and index.

Cover Art
Co-teaching that Works : Structures and Strategies for Maximizing Student Learning - by Anne M. Beninghof
Call Number: LB1029.T4 B46 2012
ISBN: 1118004361
Publication Date: 2012
Offers tips for effective teaching strategies for every type of team teaching situation imaginable Includes guidelines for successful team-teaching with specialists in technology; literacy; occupational/physical therapy; special education; speech-language therapy; ELL; Gifted. The author is an internationally recognized consultant and trainer This user-friendly, comprehensive book is filled with concrete ideas teachers can implement immediately in the classroom to boost student learning and engagement

Cover Art
Is Everyone Really Equal? : An Introduction to Key Concepts in Social Justice Education - by Özlem Sensoy and Robin DiAngelo
Call Number: LC191 .S38 2012
ISBN: 080775269X
Publication Date: 2012
Includes bibliographical references and index

Cover Art
Teach Like a Champion Field Guide : A Practical Resource to Make the 49 Techniques Your Own - by Doug Lemov
Call Number: LB1025.3 .L485 2012
ISBN: 1118116828
Publication Date: 2012
The activities are designed to accompany the practitioner on the journey to become a champion teacher. The activities span three stages: learning the techniques, preparing to use the techniques, and actual practice. In addition to developing and sharpening teaching techniques, the activities provide a proven system for assessing outcomes. The book includes thirty new video clips of champion teachers with analysis from the author. It also includes helpful charts for teachers to track their own progress and to record feedback from colleagues.

Cover Art
Theoretical Perspectives on Human Rights and Literature - edited by Elizabeth Swanson Goldberg and Alexandra Schultheis Moore ; foreword by Joseph R. Slaughter
Call Number: PN56.H79 T54 2012
ISBN: 0415890977
Publication Date: 2012
Contents include: Histories, imaginaries, and paradoxes of literature and human rights -- Questions of narration, representation, and evidence -- Rethinking the “subject” of human rights -- Do human rights need a self? Buddhist literature and the Samsaric subject. Includes bibliographical references and index.

Encyclopedia of Educational Technology

 

Welcome

Welcome to the Teacher Education subject guide, the place to start research for all your education projects.  Use the tabs above to find more specific information and resources for your research and fieldwork.  If you have any ideas or suggestions of resources that should be added to this guide, please contact Mimi Wheatwind.

 

Thanks to TEACHERS...

An animated video created with old-fashioned white chalk on a blackboard...

 

Why Can't I Just Google?

 

Educational Researcher

Educational Researcher publishes scholarly articles that are of general significance to the education research community and that come from a wide range of areas of education research and related disciplines.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Education Leadership

EL is published by ASCD.  Founded in 1943, ASCD (formerly the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development) is an educational leadership organization dedicated to advancing best practices and policies for the success of each learner. Our 150,000 members in more than 145 countries are professional educators from all levels and subject areas––superintendents, supervisors, principals, teachers, professors of education, and school board members.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Education Week

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Edutopia Magazine (RSS Feed)

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Search the Library's Catalog

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Mimi Wheatwind
 

Research Resources

Research Paper Navigator
Use this handy calculator (from Tufts University) for help with citing sources, writing your paper, library research and time management.

Citing Your Sources
Tutorial (Flash) from Eastern Washington University.

Purdue Online Writing Lab
Quick guides for MLA, APA, Chicago and tips on creating annotated bibliographies, evaluating sources, etc.

 

Book Recommendations

Many more Book Recommendations appear by clicking Find Books as well as the more specific subject tabs above, including Banned Books, Children's Literature, Children's Poetry, and  Multicultural Education.



Cover Art
Formative Assessment & Standards-Based Grading - by Robert J. Marzano
Call Number: LB3051 .M4575 2010
ISBN: 0982259220
Publication Date: 2010



Cover Art
Visible Learning for Teachers : Maximizing Impact on Learning - by John Hattie
Call Number: LB1067.5 .H37 2012
ISBN: 0415690153
Publication Date: 2012
Comprehensively covers numerous areas of learning activity including pupil motivation, curriculum, meta-cognitive strategies, behaviour, teaching strategies, and classroom management. Visible Learning for Teachers is a must read for any student or teacher who wants an evidence based answer to the question; 'how do we maximise achievement in our schools?'

Contact Us | John F. Reed Library | Fort Lewis College | 1000 Rim Drive | Durango, Colorado 81301 | 970-247-7270

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip