Skip to main content
This guide provides sources of national, local, and international education statistics, as well as data sources on specific aspects of education. It also includes general statistical sources that may be useful for education research.
Looking for other kinds of education resources? See our Teacher Education research guide.
National Statistics: U.S.
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
This is the primary Federal agency responsible for the collection, analysis and reporting of data related to education in the US.
Digest of Education Statistics
This site provides a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school.
An Online Guide to Statistics for Education and Schools in the US
Covers all K-12 levels. Includes enrollment and graduation rates.
Projections of Education Statistics
Provides projections for key education statistics, including enrollment, graduates, teachers, and expenditures in elementary and secondary schools.
The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP)
"NAEP is mandated by Congress . . . to provide objective data about student performance at national, regional, and, on a trial basis, state levels."
NCES Fast Facts
Some interesting topics/facts pertaining to educational statistics. Worthwhile checking back frequently as the links change.
The Condition of Education
This summarizes important developments and trends in education using the latest available data.
Research Center: Education Counts
Education Week's database of more than 250 state-level K-12 education indicators.
120 Years of American Education: A Statistical Portrait
This publication contains statistical trends of elementary, secondary, and higher education institutions. Text and charts describe historical shifts in educational attainment, enrollment, staff, degrees and finance. Years covered: 1870-1990.
Census Data on Educational Attainment
Educational Attainment data are collected annually in the Current Population Survey (CPS) and reported every March for the Nation, with limited detail for states and some metropolitan areas.
National Institute for Literacy - Facts & Statistics
Includes facts and statistics pulled from more than 50 research studies.
Library HoursMonday - Thursday: 7:30 am- 10:00 pm Friday: 7:30 am - 5:00 pm Saturday: 1:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Sunday: 1:00 pm - 10:00 pm
See Also: Extended Schedule
Reference Desk HoursMonday - Thursday: 9:00 am - 8:00 pm Friday: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday: CLOSEDSunday: 1:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Contact usCirculation Desk: 970-247-7270 Research Help: 970-247-7551 Library Admin: 970-247-7250
Contact Us | John F. Reed Library | Fort Lewis College | 1000 Rim Drive | Durango, Colorado 81301 | 970-247-7270