This is the "Overview" page of the "Sociology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Library Banner Fort Lewis College link Fort Lewis College link Link to Reed Library Link to Reed Library Directory Reed Library on Facebook Link to campus phone directory Link to theFort Fort Lewis College A to Z

Sociology   Tags: society, sociology  

Resources to help you with research for your sociology classes.
Last Updated: Mar 4, 2013 URL: http://subjectguides.fortlewis.edu/sociology Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

Welcome to the Library Research Guide for Sociology at Fort Lewis College!  Check this page and other tabs/pages in this guide for RSS (Really Simple Syndication) feeds from featured journals, magazines and websites.  As new articles/editions are published, the RSS content delivery system will update the table of contents of new editions, to give you the most recent offerings for your research.

See also Reed Library's Communications and Media Studies , Gender and Women's Studies, and general Sociology research guides.

If you have any suggestions of resources to add, please contact Mimi Wheatwind

OWL at Purdue

The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material, provided as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects.

  • APA Basics
    APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.
  • APA Tables and Figures 1
    Includes general guidelines, table structure, and specific types of tables
  • APA Tables and Figures 2
    Includes information on citing figures and charts such as line graphs, bar graphs, pie charts, etc.
  • OWL Professional & Technical Writing
    These OWL resources will help you conduct research and compose documents for the workplace, such as memoranda and business letters. This section also includes resources for writing report and scientific abstracts.

  • OWL Research and Citation Resources
    Not sure how to begin your research or cite your sources? OWL can provide plenty of guidance.
  • OWL Résumés and Vitas
    These OWL resources will help you compose effective résumés and Curriculum Vitae for your job search. This section includes resources on page design (which includes using white space, headings, and fonts), as well as resources on tailoring your résumé for specific employers.
 

What is Sociology?

From the "Introducing Sociology" DVD www.onlineclassroom.tv

 

Featured Journal: American Journal of Sociology

In this box you'll see a continually updated feed of new articles from the American Journal of Sociology. If you're a Sociology major or minor, you may run across some articles of interest here.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Electronic Journal of Sociology

Socjournal is a new media journal intended to offer sociologists a window into the world of new media communications. Recognizing that traditional scholarly publication in traditional scholarly journals is limited, slow, and isolated (i.e. sociological research remains hidden behind an academic wall that is impenetrable to most people), the Socjournal aims to bring sociology to the world by providing blog space, regular columns, and academic reports designed to popularize and disseminate the fascinating world of sociological research.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

CONTEXTS

Contexts is a quarterly magazine that makes cutting-edge social research accessible to general readers.  The magazine includes feature articles, culture and book reviews, photography, as well as summaries of the latest findings from social science research and news within the field.

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Mimi Wheatwind
 

Research Resources

Research Paper Navigator
Use this handy calculator for help with citing sources, writing your paper, library research and time management.

Citing Your Sources
Tutorial (Flash) from Eastern Washington University.

Purdue Online Writing Lab
Quick guides for MLA, APA, Chicago and tips on creating annotated bibliographies, evaluating sources, etc.

 

Sociological Insight

Sociological Insight is a fully refereed national undergraduate research journal aimed at promoting undergraduate research in the social sciences. Insight provides an opportunity for undergraduates all over the U.S. and abroad to publish their best academic work, and to reap the benefits of subjecting their research to a rigorous review process.

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Contact Us | John F. Reed Library | Fort Lewis College | 1000 Rim Drive | Durango, Colorado 81301 | 970-247-7270

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip