The Index to Topographic and other Map Coverage provides quadrangle names of topographic maps for locations in each state. The companion publication, Catalog of topographic and Other Published Maps, lists USGS maps and map products.
These publications are filed in the USGS TOPOGRAPHIC MAP AND GEOLOGIC MAP INDEXES BY STATE file cabinet located in the Map Collection.
The Map Locator is an online tool for locating USGS topographic maps. For more information about using this tool, see the Map Locator Guide from BYU.
USGS provides access to GeoPDFs that enable users to view and download topos. Use the USGS Map Locator to select a GeoPDF.
In order to view GeoPDF maps, you need to install the free TerraGo toolbar to your copy of AdobeReader.
Click here for more infromation about the USGS digital initiative.o view topo maps onscreen.
Create your own map with ArcGIS.
The majority of our topographic map holdings contain the popular USGS 7.5 minute series (1:24,000 scale). Reed Library retains the most recent print version of USGS 7.5 topographic maps for the following states.
We also have USGS topographic maps for Alaska. The standard map series covering Alaska is the 15-minute, 1:63,360-scale (1 inch = 1 mile) quadrangle series.
USGS topographic maps are not searchable in the library catalog. They are located in the flat map cabinets in the Maps Collection on the library's main floor. They are filed by State and alphabetically by Quadrangle.
Click here for more information about USGS topographic maps.
Reed library retains the latest print version of the BLM Surface Management Status and Minerals Management Status 1:100,000 Scale (30 X 60 minute series) Topographic Maps for the following states.
You can search for available BLM maps using the library catalog. They appear with with a call number that includes BLM Map, state and district as in the following example: BLM MAP CO: Cortez.
BLM maps are located in Folded Map Cabinets #12 & 13 in the Map Collection on the library's main floor. They are filed alphabetically by state and district.
Reed Library has a limited collection of maps in the USGS County Map Series (1:50,000 & 1:100,000 scales). County Map Series coverage includes the following states. (Note: many of these maps were compiled in the 1970's and 80's from earlier USGS 1:24,000 scale topographic maps.)
These maps are searchable in the library catalog with a call number that includes COUNTY MAP as in the following example:
USGS COUNTY MAP CO: La Plata
They are filed alphabetically by state and county and can be found in Folded Map Cabinet #11 in the Map Collection on the library's main floor.
Reed Library maintains a collection of 1:100,000 scale series 30" X 60" maps for all states; however, the library does not hold the latest version compiled.
These maps are not searchable in the library catalog. They are filed alphabetically in the folded map cabinets in the Map Collection on the library's main floor.
