LibGuides: Psychology: Tests & Measurements

Finding Tests & Measures

Using the Tests & Measures field in PsycINFO

The Tests & Measures field in PsycINFO can help you find measures used in a study. Sometimes, the actual measure is included in an appendix at the end of the study

In the top search box in PsycINFO, enter the name of a mesure, or keyword/concept. For example, Beck Depression Inventory or anxiety.
Click on the Select a Field (optional) drop-down and choose TM Tests & Measures.
To find an actual measure, add the word appended on a separate search line. This will look for the test or keyword/concept you are searching as well as an appendices that are listed as a part of the study. These appendices don't always include the exact test or measure you are looking for.
Add the words valid* or reliab* on a separate search line to include studies that focus on the validation or reliability of the test.

Test Development & Validation

The Classification (CC) field in PsycINFO can help you find articles that have been classified as about a particular subject. Codes that begin with 222 include articles that discuss the development of a measure. Doing a search that includes this code can help you find articles that focus on the development and validation of instruments which measure specific concepts.

In the top search box in PsycINFO, enter 222*
Click on the Select a Field (optional) drop-down and choose CC Classification
Add your concept measure on a separate search line. For example, depression.

Online Tests & Measurements

Test Reviews Online
Online complement to Buros' print Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY). Test information is free. Test reviews can be downloaded for a fee or viewed in print MMY volumes located in the Reed Library Reference Collection.
Psychological Tests for Students Use
Site maintained by a psychology professor at York University. Provides student researchers access to about twenty psychological tests. Authors have given permission to have these tests downloaded and used by student researchers.
Test Collection at ETS
A database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices dating back to the early 1900s, most of which were created by authors outside of the Educational Testing Service (ETS), a private nonprofit organization. It makes information on standardized tests and research instruments available to researchers, graduate students and teachers.

Print Tests & Measurements

The Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY)
MMY provides descriptive information on tests (test title, intended population, publication date, author, publisher) along with reviews. Also includes price and information to help access the test.
Tests in Print Series
Series of encyclopedias with information on published commercially available tests in psychology, education and achievement. Provides test title, intended population, publication date, author, publisher and references. For critical reviews of a test, use MMY or Test
Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures
Provides subject access to “recently developed experimental mental measures, tests, and surveys that are not commercially available…on topics ranging from educational adjustment and motivation to personality and perception. (source: APA online)”
Test Critiques
Most recent volume (no. 10) published in 1994. Includes frequently used psychological, educational, and business-related tests. Provides detailed information on tests such as reliability, validity and purpose.

Citing Tests & Measures

Citing Mental Measurements Yearbooks and test reviews
This document, created by Buros center for testing, the publishers of Mental Measurements Yearbooks, gives guidelines and examples for formatting MMY citations

PSYC 342: Test Review Activity

In your group, read over the sample article assigned, and answer the following questions:

Which psychological test or measure is addressed in your article?
Briefly describe the test or measure.
Does your study focus on validation or reliability? In what way?
Is there a target population that the study is focused on for validation or reliability? What is the population?
What were the results of your study?