Primary Sources

300,000 digitized pages of material from Harvards's 17th and 18th century collections.

Digital collection at the Connecticut State Library

Political and legal papers, sermon notebooks, and correspondence of prominent figures in 17th and 18th century Massachusetts society.

Digital collection from the Charleston Museum Archives of images from the daybook of James Poyas, a Charleston merchant. Entries begin in February 1760 and end in April of 1765.

A collaborative project of the Wisconsin Historical Society, provides 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later.

A digital copy of Cabeza De Vaca's 1555 edition of La Relacion, detailing an account of his years in the Americas. Includes original text with side-by-side English translation.

100 maps, primarily woodcuts and printed engravings, from Yale's Beinecke Library Western Americana and General collections.

Published by the University of Maryland Library, a collection of electronic texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820

Selections from the more than 3,000 rare maps, documents, paintings, prints, and artifacts that make up the Jay I. Kislak Collection at the Library of Congress. It provides insight into indigenous cultures and encounters between Native Americans and European explorers and settlers.

Includes digitized primary source documents from Cornell's extensive collection on withcraft.

Developed jointly by Historic Northampton and the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, includes historic documents from the trial

Published in partnership with Scholars' Lab of the University of Virginia Library Institute for Advanced Technology in the Humanities