The examples in this guide provide an overview of the notes and bibliography system as they may appear in a references page. Each example includes a reference list entry and corresponding notes and shortened notes in-text citation. For the sake of consistency, notes and shortened notes are presented in parentheses below the bibliographic diagrammed image of the citation example. The examples are meant to be illustrative and do not encompass every possible situation. If you have questions about citing particular types of sources or dealing with particular situations, you should consult the Chicago Manual of Style, 17th ed. located at the Research and Info Desk in Reed Library or contact a librarian, in person or via chat.
The Chicago Manual of Style
by
Bibliography entry:
Note
Tommy Orange, There There (New York: Knopf, 2018), 150-53.
Shortened Note
Orange, There There, 150-53.
Bibliography entry:
Articles from newspapers or news sites, magazines, blogs , and the like are cited similarly. Page numbers, if any, can be cited in a note but are omitted from a bibliography entry.
Note
Rebekah Ulmer and Andrea K. Gerlak, "The Remunicipalizartion of Water Services in the United States," Environment 61, no. 4, July-August 2019, 18-27.
Shortened Note
Ulmer and Gerlak, "The Remunicipalization of Water Services," 19.
Bibliography entry:
Articles from newspapers or news sites, magazines, blogs , and the like are cited similarly. Page numbers, if any, can be cited in a note but are omitted from a bibliography entry.
Note
Jonathan Romeo, "Preventing Wildfires: New Progam Provides Free Consultation on Fire Mitigation," Durango Hearld, June 28, 2019.
Shortened Note
Romeo, "Preventing Wildfires." 8A.
The following examples illustrate the notes and bibliography system. Each example of a bibliography list entry is accompanied by an example of a corresponding note showing full citation and followed by shortened note for the same source. For more details and many more examples, see chapter 14 of The Chicago Manual of Style 17th ed.
In a note, cite specific pages. In the bibliography, include the page range for the chapter or part.
Bibliography entry:
Note
Mumia Abu-Jamal, "FBI Surveillance," in Writing on the Wall: Selected Prison Writings of Mumia Abu-Jamal, ed. Johanna Fernández (San Francisco: City Lights Books, 2015), 150-53.
Shortened Note
Abu-Jamal, "FBI Surveillance," 151.
In some cases, you may want to cite the collection as a whole instead.
Bibliography entry:
Note
Johanna Fernández, ed., Writing on the Wall: Selected Prison Writings of Mumia Abu-Jamal (San Francisco: City Lights Books, 2015), 206.
Shortened Note
Fernández, Writing on the Wall, 205.
Bibliography entry:
Note
Elie Wiesel, Night, trans. Stella Rodway (New York: Bantam Books, 1986), 95.
Shortened Note
Wiesel, Night, 41.