The examples in this guide provide an over view of the notes and bibliography system as they may appear in a references page. Each example includes a reference list entry and corresponding in-text citation. For the sake of consistency, notes and shortened notes are presented in parentheses below the diagrammed image of the bibliographic citation example. The examples are meant to be illustrative and do not encompass every possible situation. If you have questions about citing particular types of sources or dealing with particular situations, you should consult the Chicago Manual of Style, 17th ed. located at the Research and Info Desk in Reed Library or contact a librarian, in person or via chat.
The Chicago Manual of Style
by
In a note, cite specific page numbers. In the bibliography, include the page range for the whole article. For articles consulted online, include a URL or the name of the database. Many journal articles list a DOI (Digital Object Identifier). A DOI forms a permanent URL that begins https://doi.org/. This URL is preferable to the URL that appears in your browser’s address bar.
Journal articles often list many authors, especially in the sciences. If there are four or more authors, list up to ten in the bibliography; in a note, list only the first, followed by et al. (“and others”). For more than ten authors, list the first seven in the bibliography, followed by et al.
Bibliography entry:
Note
Sheryl Laura Clark, "Fitness, Fatness and Healthism Discourse: Girls Constructing 'Healthy" identities in School," Gender and Education 30, no. 4 (2018): 490. https://10.1080/09540253.2016.1216953.
Shortened Note
Clark, "Fitness, Fatness and Healthism," 491.
For books consulted online, include a URL or the name of the database. For other types of e-books, name the format. If no fixed page numbers are available, cite a section title or a chapter or other number in the notes, if any (or simply omit).
Bibliography entry:
Note
P. Andrew Jones and Thomas V. Cech, Colorado Water Law for Non-Lawyers (Colorado: University of Colorado Press, 2009), chap. 3, 66, EBSCOhost.
Shortened Note
Jones and Cech, Colorado Water Law, chap. 3, 66.
It is often sufficient simply to describe web pages and other website content in the text (“As of May 1, 2017, Yale’s home page listed . . .”). If a more formal citation is needed, it may be styled like the examples below. For a source that does not list a date of publication or revision, include an access date.
Bibliography entry:
Note
"About Purgatory Resort," Purgatory Resort, accessed April 13, 2019, https://www.purgatoryresort.com/about/.
Shortened Note
Purgatory Resort, "About Purgatory Resort."
The following examples illustrate the Notes & Bibliography system. Each example of a reference list entry is accompanied by an example of a corresponding note and shortened. For more details and many more examples, see chapter 14 of The Chicago Manual of Style 17th ed.
Bibliography entry:
Note
Katherine Sanders, "The Media's Portrayal of Human Trafficking Versus Experiences: Understanding Human Trafficking from the Survivors Perspective by Analyzing Media Portrayal of Human Trafficking and Debunking the Myths" (PhD diss., University of North Carolina, 2018), 75.
Shortened Note
Sanders, "The Media's Portrayal," 79-95.
Articles from newspapers or news sites, magazines, blogs, and the like are cited similarly. Page numbers, if any, can be cited in a note but are omitted from a bibliography entry. If you consulted the article online, include a URL or the name of the database.
Bibliography entry:
Note
"Standing Rock Sioux Tribe Still Waiting on Dakota Access Decision," Indianz.com, September 18, 2018, https://www.indianz.com/News/2018/09/18/standing-rock-sioux-tribe-still-waiting.asp.
Shortened Note
"Standing Rock Sioux Tribe."
Citations of content shared through social media can usually be limited to the text (as in the first example below). A note may be added if a more formal citation is needed. In rare cases, a bibliography entry may also be appropriate. In place of a title, quote up to the first 160 characters of the post. Comments are cited in reference to the original post.
Conan O’Brien’s tweet was characteristically deadpan: “In honor of Earth Day, I’m recycling my tweets” (@ConanOBrien, April 22, 2015).
Bibliography entry:
Note
FLC Native American Center, "Join the FLC Diné Club as they hoste a Késhjéé ("Navajo Shoe Game")," Facebook, February 24, 2020, https://www.facebook.com/flcnac/.
Shortened Note
FLC Native American Center, "Join the FLC Diné Club."
Bibliography entry:
Note
Reed Library. "The Zora Canon, 100 greatest books ever written by African American women," Instagram photo, February 4, 2020, https://www.instagram.com/p/B8J347QHRo7/.
Shortened Note
Reed Library, "The Zora Canon."